About ESE

ESE stands for Engineering Services Examination. The examination is conducted by UPSC every year as a combined competitive examination for recruitment into various government engineering organisations like -

  • Indian Railway Services of Engineers (IRSE)
  • Central Engineering Services (CES)
  • Military Engineering Services (MES) &
  • 40+ other departmental organizations

The examination are conducted separately for the following departments -

  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering

The examination is conducted in three Stages -

  • Stage 1 – Preliminary
  • Stage 2 – Mains
  • Stage 3 – Personality Test

Final year student can also appear for the examination.

Cracking the ESE exam requires not just academic knowledge but also knowledge of General Studies & Engineering Aptitude. Right attitude and personality are also required to crack personality test.


Age Limit - Applicants have to be within the age span of 21 – 30 Years as on 1st August of the year of examination. (Certain categories of persons including departmental candidates as specified in the Commission's Notice published in the Employment News/Rozgar Samachar are eligible for age relaxation.)

Education - A Degree in Engineering from a recognised university or equivalent., M.Sc degree or its equivalent with Wireless Communications, Electronics, Radio Physics or Radio Engineering as special subjects are also acceptable for certain Services / posts only.

Nationality - The candidate should be an Indian Citizen

Exam Pattern

ESE Examination is conducted in 3 stages-
Stage 1 – Preliminary stage comprising 2 objective papers with a total of 500 Marks
Stage 2 – Mains comprising 2 conventional type papers with a total of 600 Marks
Stage 3 – Personality test with a total of 200 marks

Course Duration: 10 Month